I’ve received so many messages over the last few days from anxious, scared and worried teachers and school staff about the reopening of schools with the current case numbers of Covid 19.

I desperately want to be back in school with my students but I firmly believe it’s currently not safe. Online learning is certainly no replacement but it’s one of the only viable options for the next while until numbers get back under control.

If you are worried, you need to voice your concerns to the INTO, your local tds, and Norma Foley. Below is a sample letter which may be useful. It’ll only take a moment to copy and paste it and send it to the representatives below. 

(Massive thanks to Dee from Playful Classroom and Lorraine from All Things Primary for their help with these!) 

Sample email

Dear {John Boyle / Minister / Taoiseach}

My name is {insert name}. I’m a primary school teacher based in {insert county} and I teach {insert number} children in {insert class}
I am emailing you today to voice my serious concerns about schools reopening on 11th January. I recognise that online learning is no replacement for in person teaching, and I desperately want to be in my classroom with my students, however, it is not currently a safe environment for pupils, teachers or school staff. In the last 7 days, over 15,000 people have tested positive for Covid-19.
I am sure that you will agree that this is an extremely grave situation. Moving to remote learning for a few weeks will reduce the risks to school staff, pupils and their respective families.
Safety MUST be a priority.
Yours sincerely,

Useful emails

INTO

info@into.ie

General Secretary: jboyle@into.ie

Deputy Secretary: nward@into.ie

President: mmagner@into.ie

Vice-President: jmckeown@into.ie

 

Central Executive Committee Reps:

 

Government

Minister for Children, Equality, Disability, Integration and Youth, Roderic O’Gorman: roderic.ogorman@oireachtas.ie

Minister’s Office: minister@dcya.gov.ie

Minister for Education and Skills, Norma Foley: norma.foley@oireachtas.ie

Minister’s Office: Minister@education.gov.ie 

Press Office: press@education.gov.ie

Secretary General: secgen@education.gov.ie

 

Minister for Health, Stephen Donnelly: stephen.donnelly@oireachtas.ie

Secretary General, Colm O’Reardon: secgen@health.gov.ie

Office of the Chief Medical Officer, Tony Holohan: CMO@health.gov.ie

Deputy CMO, Ronan Glynn: Ronan_Glynn@health.gov.ie

 

Department of the Taoiseach: webmaster@taoiseach.ie

Press Office: press.office@taoiseach.gov.ie

An Taoiseach, Micheál Martin: micheal.martin@oireachtas.ie

 

Táiniste, Leo Varadkar: leo.varadkar@oireachtas.ie, leo.varadkar@oir.ie